Supervisory authorities

CNRS UCBL Lyon1 ENS Lyon

Search




Home > Scientific computing

Activity axes

by MICHEL-DANSAC LEO, PECONTAL ARLETTE - published on , updated on


The Scientific computing department gathers both the engineers and technicians with relevant skills for performing activities described below. It supports this way both the instrument developments, the national observation services and the science activities.

 

  • Astrophysical simulations These simulations focus on complex objects or astrophysical systems in order to test some theoritical hypothesis and evolution scenarii. The 3D simulation of astrophysical processes allows to check their role and importance to reproduce an observed behaviour. Theses simulations may also be predictive and inspire new observations. They use intensive computing.
  • Instrument numerical simulator An instrument numerical simulator (or model) is a software based on Fourrier optics which reproduces the path of the light throught the instrument. It replaces the instrument while being built, creating from astrophysical scenes raw data similar to those produced by the detectors in the future instrument.
  • Data reduction The data reduction software extracts the raw data, and removes the instrument signature in order to get data comparable with those acquired with any other instrument.
  • Data analysis The data analysis software extracts physical parameters from reduced data in order to try to help highlighting the physical processes in action.
  • Support to Assembly, Integration and Verification (AIV) while building instruments These pieces of software mainly aim at supporting optical teams and system engineers by allowing them to validate sub-systems and check compliance with specifications. They may also facilitate optical aligments during the assembly and integration phases.


The department also manage some computing facilities like the CCF (Common Computing Facility) a supercomputing facility with 1200 cores and 1Pb of storage bought by the labex LIO.


 

List of publications the department contributed to:

S. Conseil

M. France
A. Jarno
L. Michel-Dansac
A. P├ęcontal
L. Piqueras

Nos tutelles

CNRS UCBL Lyon1 ENS Lyon

Rechercher




Accueil > Calcul Scientifique

Axes d’activités

par MICHEL-DANSAC LEO, PECONTAL ARLETTE - publié le , mis à jour le


Le service Calcul Scientifique du CRAL regroupe les personnels techniques dont les compétences permettent de mener à bien les développements décrits ci-dessous, que ce soit en support aux développements instrumentaux, aux services d’observations ou aux activités de recherche.

 

  • Simulations astrophysiques Il s’agit de simulations numériques d’objets ou de systèmes astrophysiques complexes. Ces simulations ont pour but de tester des hypothèses théoriques et des scénarios d’évolution de ces systèmes. La simulation 3D de nombreux processus astrophysiques permet de comprendre l’importance et le rôle de ces processus pour reproduire un phénomène observé. Ces simulations peuvent aussi avoir un pouvoir prédictif et inspirer de nouvelles observations. Ce sont des simulations lourdes, adeptes du calcul intensif.
  • Simulateur d’instrument Un simulateur d’instrument est un logiciel basé sur l’optique de Fourrier qui reproduit le parcours de la lumière à travers l’instrument. Il remplace ainsi l’instrument pendant la phase de construction, créant à partir de scènes astrophysiques les images détecteurs telles que les produira l’instrument futur.
  • Réduction des données Les logiciels de réduction des données permettent d’extraire les données brutes issues d’instruments astrophysiques, et d’ôter la signature instrumentale de façon à les rendre comparables aux données acquises par d’autres instruments.
  • Analyse des données Les logiciels d’analyse permettent d’extraire les données physiques susceptibles de mettre en lumière les processus physiques en œuvre.
  • Support à la phase d’Assemblage, d’Intégration et de Vérification (AIV) Cette gamme de logiciel est principalement un support aux opticiens et à l’ingénierie système. Ils permettent en effet de valider des spécifications et/ou de faciliter l’alignement des optiques lors de la phase d’assemblage et d’intégration.
  • Ingénierie système/management de projet Le service assure des activités de management de projet et d’ingénierie système logiciel dans différents projets d’instrumentation sol ou GSE.


Le service gère de plus certains moyens de calcul comme le CCF (Common Computing Facility) un super-calculateur de 1200 coeurs acquis par le labex LIO.