Supervisory authorities

CNRS UCBL Lyon1 ENS Lyon

Search




Home > Scientific computing

Projects

by MICHEL-DANSAC LEO, PECONTAL ARLETTE - published on , updated on

The Scientific Computing department at CRAL is currently involved in the following instrumental and scientific projects.

 

  • Instrumental Projects


ESO-EELT/HARMONI is an integral field spectrograph to be installed on the future E-ELT telescope. It is one of the first light instrument. CRAL is responsible for the scientific software which includes the instrument numerical simulator and the data reduction software. CRAL also leads the software system engineering tasks of the HARMONI project.

 


ESO-VISTA/4MOST is a multi-object spectrograph dedicated to the VISTA telescope (ESO-Paranal). Our department is currently supporting the optical teams by providing modelization routines for the Line Spread Function (LSF) and computing criteria used to check compliance with specifications.

 


ESO-VLT/MUSE is an integral field spectrograph installed in Chile at Paranal on one of the ESO large telescopes (UT4) since January 2014. It is offered to the community since October of the same year. The CRAL, through the Scientific Computing department, participated in this project by assuming the following responsibilities:
- software project management,
- instrument numerical model,
- some pieces of the control software (fast reconstruction of the field of view, star extraction, ...),
- observation preparation software,
- participation to the tests both in Europe and Chile,
- automatisation of the optical alignment tool and development of the associated software.

 


ESA-JWST/NIRSpec is one of the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) instruments which will be launched in 2018. Through a formal contract with EADS-Astrium (now Airbus Defense & Space), the CRAL developed the instrument performance simulator. This software was delivered in 2011. The CRAL is currently upgrading this software on behalf of ESA.

 

  • Scientific Projects


The MUSICOS project is an ERC advanced Grant led by the MUSE Principal Investigator. This project brings together scientists and postdocs from 7 laboratories and focus on the data analysis of MUSE data. It aims at better understanding the process of galaxy evolution. Our department participates in the reduction and analysis of the data and provides a dedicated python framework (MPDAF) to the scientists in order to facilitate the data analysis.

 


extraSim is a broad project around the development of numerical simulations for the formation and evolution of galaxies. It is funded by the Labex LIO and various ANR projects (HORIZON, BINGO!, OREAGAN, FOGHAR, ORAGE, 3DGasFlows). It includes the following scientific projects:
- The GALICS project (semi-analytical models of galaxy formation)
- The RASCAS project (radiative scattering in simulations)
- The SPHINX project (RHD simulations of galaxies during the epoch of reionization)
Our department participates in the development of codes (RAMSES, RASCAS, RATS), in the production of simulations, and in the administration of the CCF cluster.

 


The arthUs - advances in the research on theories of the dark Universe - project is an ERC Advanced Grant led by Prof. Thomas Buchert. This project of the GALPAC team in theoretical cosmology at CRAL studies the effect of inhomogeneities in relativistic cosmology on average properties of cosmological models, related to the dark energy and dark matter problems. Our department participates in the development of integral-geometrical tools (Minkowski functionals) directed towards the robust morphological analysis of galaxy catalogues and Cosmic Microwave Background data.

Nos tutelles

CNRS UCBL Lyon1 ENS Lyon

Rechercher




Accueil > Calcul Scientifique

Projets

par MICHEL-DANSAC LEO, PECONTAL ARLETTE - publié le , mis à jour le


Le service Calcul Scientifique du CRAL est actuellement impliqué ou reste impliqué dans les projets instrumentaux et scientifiques suivants.

 

  • Projets Instrumentaux


ESO-EELT/HARMONI est un spectrographe intégral de champ destiné à équiper le futur télescope E-ELT. C’est l’un des instruments de première lumière. Le CRAL est responsable notamment des logiciels scientifiques incluant le simulateur d’instrument et le logiciel des réduction de données. Le CRAL a de plus la responsabilité système logiciel pour l’ensemble du projet.

 


ESO-VISTA/4MOST est un spectrographe multi-objets destiné au télescope VISTA (ESO-Paranal). Le service apporte pour l’instant son expertise logicielle aux opticiens en réalisant des routines de modélisation de la fonction d’appareil spectrale (Line Spectral Function, LSF) et le calcul des critères permettant de vérifier un certain nombre de spécifications techniques.

 


ESO-VLT/MUSE est un spectrographe intégral de champ qui a été installé au Chili à Paranal sur l’un des grands télescopes de l’ESO (UT4) début 2014 et est entré en service pour la communauté en octobre de la même année. Le CRAL, via le service Calcul Scientifique a participé à ce projet en assurant différentes responsabilités :
- management de l’ensemble des activités logicielles,
- logiciel de simulation de l’instrument,
- certains modules du logiciel de contrôle (reconstruction rapide du champ de vue, détection d’étoiles, ...),
- logiciel de préparation des observations,
- participation aux phases de tests en Europe et au Chili,
- automatisation de l’outil d’alignement optique et développement des logiciels associés.

 


ESA-JWST/NIRSpec est l’un des instrument embarqué sur le James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) et qui devrait être lancé en 2018. Dans le cadre d’un contrat avec EADS-Astrium (actuellement Airbus Defence & Space), le CRAL a réalisé le logiciel de calcul des performances de l’instrument. Ce logiciel a été livré en 2011. Le CRAL assure actuellement une mise à jour de ce logiciel pour le compte de l’ESA.

 

  • Projets Scientifiques


MUSICOS est une Advanced ERC portée par le scientifique responsable du projet MUSE. Ce projet réunit des scientifiques et postdocs de 7 laboratoires autour de l’analyse de données MUSE et vise à mieux comprendre les processus d’évolution des galaxies. Dans ce cadre le service participe à la réduction et l’analyse de données d’une part et au développement et à la mise à disposition d’un cadre de travail python dédié (MPDAF) facilitant l’analyse des données d’autre part.

 


extraSim est un vaste projet de développement de simulations numériques pour l’étude de la formation et de l’évolution des galaxies. Il est financé par le LabEx LIO et plusieurs ANR (HORIZON, BINGO !, OREAGAN, FOGHAR, ORAGE, 3DGasFlows). Il regroupe plusieurs projets scientifiques :
- le projet GALICS (modèles semi-analytiques de formation des galaxies)
- le projet RASCAS (transfert de rayonnement résonnant dans les simulations)
- le projet SPHINX (simulations RHD des galaxies pendant l’époque de réionisation).
Le service participe actuellement aux développements des codes (RAMSES, RASCAS, RATS), à la production des simulations, ainsi qu’à l’administration du cluster de calcul CCF.

 


arthUs - avances dans la recherche théorique de l’Univers sombre - est une ERC Advanced Grant portée par Thomas Buchert. Ce projet de l’équipe GALPAC en cosmologie théorique du CRAL étudie les effets d’inhomogénéités en cosmologie relativiste sur les propriétés moyennes d’un modèle cosmologique, en relation avec les problèmes de l’énergie noire et de la matière sombre. Le service participe aux développements d’outils de la géométrie intégrale (les fonctionnelles de Minkowski) dédiés à l’analyse morphologique robuste des catalogues de galaxies et des données du fond diffus micro-ondes (CMB).